North Seas Energy Cooperation Meets in Brussels - Germany to Chair the Cooperation from January

In the run-up to the meeting of EU energy ministers in Brussels on 4th December the member countries of the North Seas Energy Cooperation met to promote the further development of joint offshore wind projects. Within the framework of the North Seas Energy Cooperation, ten European states (Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom) and the European Commission are working to promote the coordinated and cross-border expansion of offshore wind energy and grid infrastructure in Europe. Germany will take over the chairmanship of the cooperation from Denmark from January 2020.

The ministers agreed in particular to improve the regulatory framework for cross-border offshore projects and to coordinate grid planning on land and sea more closely. In addition, the potential of offshore wind energy for Power-To-X applications is to be examined more closely.

> More information on the North Seas Energy Cooperation (NSEC)

> More information on the NSEC work programme