Eight Governments pledge to kickstart offshore wind in the Baltic Sea

At an Offshore Wind Conference, hosted by the Polish Wind Energy Association (PSEW), high-level representatives of eight Baltic Sea countries and the European Commission signed a joint declaration to accelerate the build-out of new offshore wind capacities in the Baltic Sea.

Among the signatories of the Baltic Sea Offshore Wind Declaration are Poland, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia. The countries jointly commit to the expansion of offshore wind energy in the Baltic Sea. They want to foster mutual collaboration in the context of the Baltic Energy Market Interconnection Plan (BEMIP).

This collaboration will include questions of hybrid offshore wind projects, smart grids, energy system integration and digitalization. According to the Declaration, the countries will also develop coordinated approaches to maritime planning, taking into account other uses of the sea space and environmental protection.

“Today’s Declaration marks another milestone for the energy transition in Poland and in the whole Baltic region. Governments put faith in Europe’s cheap, efficient and reliable offshore wind technologies. They acknowledge that wind energy can be a motor of Europe’s recovery from COVID19, ensuring long-term growth and jobs. The collaborative spirit of today’s declaration should also feature in the EU Offshore Renewable Energy Strategy”, said WindEurope Deputy CEO Malgosia Bartosik.

> More information