PROMOTioN - Progress on Meshed HVDC Offshore Transmission Networks

© TenneT / HelWin alpha

A meshed offshore power grid would significantly strengthen the European electritiy market from a financial technical and environmental point of view. The EU project “PROMOTioN” in which the Foundation plays a prominent role, will analyse the positive effects of the development of a common offshore power grid infrastructure, in particular on the basis of meshed high-voltage direct-current transmission technology (HVDC).

Background, project goals and focus

A meshed offshore power grid would significantly strengthen the European electricity market from a financial, technical and environmental point of view. Over the next four years, the EU project “PROMOTioN” (Progress on Meshed HVDC Offshore Transmission Networks) will analyse the positive effects of the development of a common offshore power grid infrastructure, in particular on the basis of meshed high-voltage direct-current transmission technology (HVDC). The German Offshore Wind Energy Foundation is a project partner and is responsible in particular for project communication and stakeholder management, including the development of corporate identity and the conception and implementation of online communication.

PROMOTioN aims to develop and realise various technical demonstration systems for HVDC network technology, e.g. DRU (diode rectifier unit), and test HVDC circuit breakers as well as special HVDC rectifier and protection systems. In addition, proposals for regulatory and financial frameworks are to be developed which enable coordinated planning for building an integrated European offshore power grid (roadmap).

At present, this development still entails high costs for converter technology, a lack of technical standards and a lack of experience with electro technical protection and safety systems. In addition, there are still deficits in the legal and regulatory framework at both the national and European level which hinder the establishment of a cross-border offshore gird infrastructure.

Thirty-four partners from 11 European countries participate in the research project. The partners come from the manufacturing industry, grid operators, offshore farm operators and investors, as well as from research, industry networks and non-profit organisations. Within the framework of the project, the approaches to solutions resulting from the project, both in the technological and the regulatory fields, will be presented at workshops and events and will  be discussed with the stakeholders. PROMOTioN is the most comprehensive energy research project within the framework of the European research program “Horizon 2020”.

 

 

 

 

www.promotion-offshore.net

Download Fact Sheet (PDF 1.69 MB)

 

Project timeframe and support

January 2016 – December 2019. The project is promoted through the EU research program “Horizon 2020”.


Contact persons

Philipp Kalweit (p.kalweit@offshore-stiftung.de)

Sebastian Menze (s.menze@offshore-stiftung.de)

Project partners

Participant short name

Participant legal name

Country

DNV GL

Kema Nederland BV

Netherlands

ABB

ABB AB

Sweden

KU Leuven

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Belgium

KTH

Kungliga Tekniska hoegskolan

Sweden

EirGrid

EirGrid plc

Ireland

SGI

SuperGrid Institute

France

DWG

Deutsche WindGuard GmbH

Germany

MEU

Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V.

Netherlands

Svk

Affärsverket svenska kraftnät

Sweden

GE

Grid Solutions a GE & Alstom joint venture

United Kingdom

UniAbdn

The University Court of the University of Aberdeen

United Kingdom

RTE

Réseau de Transport d'Électricité

France

TU Delft

Technische Universiteit Delft

Netherlands

Statoil

Statoil ASA

Norway

TenneT

TenneT TSO B.V.

Netherlands

SOW

Stiftung OFFSHORE-WINDENERGIE

Germany

Siemens

Siemens AG

Germany

DTU

Danmarks Tekniske Universitet

Denmark

RWTH Aachen

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen

Germany

UPV

Universitat Politècnica de València

Spain

FGH

Forschungsgemeinschaft für. Elektrische Anlagen und Stromwirtschaft e.V.

Germany

DONG Energy

Dong Energy Wind Power A/S

Denmark

Carbon Trust

The Carbon Trust

United Kingdom

Tractebel

Tractebel Engineering S.A.

Belgium

EUI

European University Institute

Italy

Iberdrola

Iberdrola Renovables Energía, S.A.

Spain

T&D Europe

European Association of the Electricity Transmission & Distribution Equipment and Services Industry

Belgium

USTRAT

University of Strathclyde

United Kingdom

Adwen

ADWEN Offshore, S.L.

Spain

Prysmian

Prysmian

Italy

RUG

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

Netherlands

MVOW

MHI Vestas Offshore Wind AS

Denmark

Energinet

Energinet.dk

Denmark

SHE Transmission

Scottish Hydro Electric Transmission plc

United Kingdom

PROMOTioN - Progress on Meshed HVDC Offshore Transmission Networks

Ein vermaschtes Offshore-Stromnetz würde den europäischen Strommarkt in finanzieller, technischer und umwelttechnischer Hinsicht erheblich stärken. Im Rahmen des EU-Projektes „PROMOTioN“ an dem die Stiftung maßgeblich beteiligt ist, werden die positiven Effekte, die mit der Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen Offshore-Stromnetzinfrastruktur – insbesondere auf Basis einer  vermaschten Hochspannungs-Gleichstromübertragungstechnologie (HGÜ) – einhergehen, analysiert.

Hintergrund, Projektziele und Projektschwerpunkte

Ein vermaschtes Offshore-Stromnetz würde den europäischen Strommarkt in finanzieller, technischer und umwelttechnischer Hinsicht erheblich stärken. Das EU-Projekt “PROMOTioN“ (Progress on Meshed HVDC Offshore Transmission Networks) analysiert in den kommenden vier Jahren die positiven Effekte, die mit der Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen Offshore-Stromnetzinfrastruktur insbesondere auf Basis einer vermaschten Hochspannungs-Gleichstromübertragungstechnologie (HGÜ) einhergehen. Die Stiftung OFFSHORE-WINDENERGIE ist Projektpartner und ist insbesondere für die Projektkommunikation und das Stakeholdermanagement zuständig. Dazu gehören u.a. die Entwicklung der Corporate Identity und die Konzeption und Durchführung der Online-Kommunikation.

Ziel von PROMOTioN ist die Entwicklung und Realisierung von verschiedenen technischen Demonstrationssystemen für HGÜ-Netztechnik, wie z.B. DRU (Diodengleichrichtereinheit), Erprobung von HGÜ-Leistungsschaltern sowie von speziellen HGÜ-Gleichrichter- und Schutzsystemen. Darüber hinaus sollen Vorschläge für regulatorische und finanzielle Rahmenbedingungen entwickelt werden, die eine koordinierte Planung zum Aufbau eines integrierten europäischen Offshore-Stromnetzes ermöglichen (Roadmap).

Aktuell stehen dieser Entwicklung noch hohe Kosten für die Konvertertechnologie, fehlende technische Standards sowie mangelnde Erfahrungen mit elektrotechnischen Schutz- und Sicherheitssystemen entgegen. Zusätzlich gibt es noch Defizite bei den gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen auf nationaler und auf europäischer Ebene, die dem Aufbau einer grenzüberschreitenden Offshore-Netzinfrastruktur entgegenstehen.

An dem Forschungsprojekt nehmen 34 Partner aus 11 europäischen Staaten teil. Die Partner kommen aus der herstellenden Industrie, von Netzbetreibern, Offshore-Parkbetreibern und Investoren sowie aus der Forschung, Netzwerken und gemeinnützigen Organisationen. Im Rahmen des Projektes sollen auf Workshops und Veranstaltungen die Lösungsansätze aus dem Projekt, sowohl im technologischen wie im regulatorischen Bereich, vorgestellt und mit Stakeholdern diskutiert werden. PROMOTioN ist dabei das umfangreichste Energieforschungsprojekt im Rahmen des Europäischen Forschungsprogramms “Horizont 2020“.

 

 

 

Projektzeitraum und Förderung

Januar 2016 – Dezember 2019. Das Projekt wird im Forschungsrahmenprogramm "Horizont 2020" durch die EU gefördert. 

PROMOTioN

 

www.promotion-offshore.net

Download Fact Sheet (PDF 1.69 MB)


Ansprechpartner

Philipp Kalweit (p.kalweit@offshore-stiftung.de)

Sebastian Menze (s.menze@offshore-stiftung.de)

 

Projektpartner 

Participant short name

Participant legal name

Country

DNV GL

Kema Nederland BV

Netherlands

ABB

ABB AB

Sweden

KU Leuven

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Belgium

KTH

Kungliga Tekniska hoegskolan

Sweden

EirGrid

EirGrid plc

Ireland

SGI

SuperGrid Institute

France

DWG

Deutsche WindGuard GmbH

Germany

MEU

Mitsubishi Electric Europe B.V.

Netherlands

Svk

Affärsverket svenska kraftnät

Sweden

GE

Grid Solutions a GE & Alstom joint venture

United Kingdom

UniAbdn

The University Court of the University of Aberdeen

United Kingdom

RTE

Réseau de Transport d'Électricité

France

TU Delft

Technische Universiteit Delft

Netherlands

Statoil

Statoil ASA

Norway

TenneT

TenneT TSO B.V.

Netherlands

SOW

Stiftung OFFSHORE-WINDENERGIE

Germany

Siemens

Siemens AG

Germany

DTU

Danmarks Tekniske Universitet

Denmark

RWTH Aachen

Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen

Germany

UPV

Universitat Politècnica de València

Spain

FGH

Forschungsgemeinschaft für. Elektrische Anlagen und Stromwirtschaft e.V.

Germany

DONG Energy

Dong Energy Wind Power A/S

Denmark

Carbon Trust

The Carbon Trust

United Kingdom

Tractebel

Tractebel Engineering S.A.

Belgium

EUI

European University Institute

Italy

Iberdrola

Iberdrola Renovables Energía, S.A.

Spain

T&D Europe

European Association of the Electricity Transmission & Distribution Equipment and Services Industry

Belgium

USTRAT

University of Strathclyde

United Kingdom

Adwen

ADWEN Offshore, S.L.

Spain

Prysmian

Prysmian

Italy

RUG

Rijksuniversiteit Groningen

Netherlands

MVOW

MHI Vestas Offshore Wind AS

Denmark

Energinet

Energinet.dk

Denmark

SHE Transmission

Scottish Hydro Electric Transmission plc

United Kingdom